Rector UAI

Harald Beyer

President of Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez since 2018.

Former Director of the Center for Public Studies from March 2014 to December 2017. Deputy Director from 2008 to 2011. From 2011 to 2013, he served as Chilean Minister of Education.

He has published extensively in academic journals in Chile and abroad. He also collaborates with the El Mercurio Redaction Board and is board member of the Choshuenco Educational Foundation.

He obtained his undergraduate degree at the Universidad de Chile, graduating with a Bachelor’s in Economic Science and Business Engineering. He completed graduate studies at University of California, Los Angeles, USA, obtaining a Master of Arts and Doctorate (Economics).



Pedro Ibáñez Santa María

Vice Chairman

Andrés Iacobelli del Río


  • Kathleen Barclay
  • Felipe Bulnes Serrano
  • Fernando Massú Taré
  • Juan Francisco Levine Lira
  • Vicente Muñiz Rubio
  • María Gracia Cariola Cubillos
  • Arturo Cifuentes Ovalle
Adolfo Ibáñez Foundation Board


Pedro Ibáñez Santa María


Kathleen Barclay


Cristóbal Lira Ibáñez


  • Felipe Bulnes Serrano
  • Nicolás Ibáñez Scott
  • Fernando Massú Taré
  • Lucía Santa Cruz Sutil

Special Counselors

  • Maximiliano Ibáñez Bulnes
  • Ana María Camus Ibáñez
Honorary Academic Members

UAI grants the title of Honorary Academic Member to noteworthy personalities whose work has been recognized as exemplary for the purposes of the university.

Mario Vargas Llosa, 2018
Writer and Nobel Prize Winner in Literature
Deirdre McCkloskey, 2016
Professor of History and Economics at the University of Illinois at Chicago.
Niall Ferguson, 2014
Vernon Smith, 2012
Nobel Prize Winner in Economics
Ricardo Piglia, 2011
Argentine Novelist and Essayist
Ottfried Höffe, 2010
Professor of Political Philosophy, Tübingen
Quentin Skinner, 2009
Regius Professor of History, Cambridge
Carlo Ginzburg, 2008
Professor of Philosophy and History, UCLA
Monseñor Jorge Medina Estévez, 1996
Chilean Philosopher and Theologian
Michael Porter, 1995
Strategy Professor, Harvard
Antonio Millán-Puelles, 1995
Spanish Philosopher and Writer
Redes Sociales